Mayo claim North West Cup

Back 28/01/2017 @ 17:45 | mainnews | Mayo claim North West Cup

Mayo claim the honours

Sligo 1-10 Mayo 3-12

A productive closing quarter gave Mayo the early season honours at Markievicz Park after they claimed the North West Cup following a seven-point defeat of Sligo in the decider last Saturday afternoon.

Two goals in the final 15 minutes ensured the reigning All-Ireland champions came out on top after a competitive encounter, the score-line of which unfairly reflects on what was an industrious Sligo effort.

Despite trailing 1-5 to 0-5 at half time, Sligo started the second half well and regained the initiative after Liam Gaughan’s superb 45th minute goal, with Patrick O’Connor’s free soon after giving Sligo a 1-8 to 1-7 lead.

However, Mayo took over proceedings thereafter with Sligo unable to extend their advantage.

Kevin Quinn and Ryan O’Donoghue – two of Mayo’s most prominent performers – hit the net in the closing stages to help their side into the ascendency once again, while James Carr (2), O’Donoghue and Sean Conlon all raised white flags in the same period.

The opening half was a cagey affair, with Sligo initially showing quite well. Darragh Cummins’ fine 11th minute score was the pick of the first half, with the sides locked together at 0-2 apiece after 15 minutes.

The difference at the break proved to be Colm Reape’s 25th minute goal – indeed, the winners’ also spurned two clear-cut goal chances in the first half – and despite clawing their way back in front after the break, Sligo ended on the wrong side of the 3-12 to 1-10 scoreline.

Paul Taylor’s side now have a break from competitive action before they enter the Connacht Championship versus Roscommon on March 22nd.

Sligo: D Cafferkey; N Mullen, L Nicholson, M Gordon; D Cummins (0-1), P McNamara, S Power (0-1); G O’Kelly-Lynch, P Kilcoyne; M Clarke, P O’Connor (0-4, 3fs), S Connolly; J O’Reilly (0-1), A McLoughlin (0-1), K Cawley. Subs used: L Gaughan (1-1), J Perry (0-1), S Carrabine, D Kilgallon

Mayo: S Kilker; M Park, S Brennan, S Conlon (0-1); D Cannon, J Forkan, G McHale; J Kelly, J McCormack (0-1); C Hennelly (0-1), J Lyons (0-1), R O’Donoghue (1-3); B Duffy, J Carr (0-4, 3fs), C Reape (1-0). Subs used: K Quinn (1-1), M Ruane, S Akram, M Murray

Referee: J White (Donegal)