Mayo end Sligo’s winning run

Mayo end Sligo’s winning run

Sligo 1-7 Mayo 2-9

Sligo’s unbeaten record in this year’s Connacht Minor League came to an end in Markievicz Park last Saturday when they lost to Mayo by five points in round four of the competition.

Having beaten Longford, Roscommon and Leitrim already, Sligo came into the game in good form but struggled against a Mayo side that started well and maintained their advantage throughout.

With a strong breeze blowing down the field, Mayo had the wind in the opening half and scored five points in the first quarter to open up a significant advantage before Sligo opened their account.

With Stephen McGreal, Michael McGarry and Pat Lambert all on target early on for the visitors, Sligo started to gain a foothold in the game and Barry Gorman kicked a fine score after 18 minutes to put an end to Mayo’s dominance.

Red Og Murphy, influential throughout for the home side, added Sligo’s second point on 25 minutes, but Mayo held the initiative at half time 0-8 to 0-2.

With the wind at their backs in the second period, Sligo set about reducing the deficit and halved Mayo’s advantage by the 42nd minute with Murphy (2) and Gorman on target.

Mayo, however, won a penalty after a foul on Mark Moran in the 43rd minute and Michael McGarry converted from the spot to undo Sligo’s early second half industry.

A second goal from Mayo followed in the 53rd minute to extend Mayo’s lead to 2-8 to 0-6, and though Red Og Murphy’s goal from a quick free in the 56th minute gave Sligo hope, Mayo ran out five-point winners.

Sligo: Robbie Kelly; Oisin Conlon, Josh Ellis, Evan Lyons; James Weir, Brian Cox, Rory McHugh; Evan Lavin, Barry Gorman (0-2); Colm Doddy, Niall Colsh, Michéal Cahill; Red Óg Murphy (1-5, 3fs), Conal Ryan, Karl McKenna. Subs used: James Duffy, James O’Hara, Roland Anderson, Jake Stephenson

Comments and Discussion on this article:                          (+ Write a Comment)

Write comments about this article
Your Name:*