Div 1 Minor League title for Shamrock Gaels

Expert Electrical Sligo Minor Division 1 League Cup Final

Shamrock Gaels 4-14

Eastern Harps     2-8

At Markievicz Park


An impressive display from Shamrock Gaels ensured they would win this year’s Expert Electrical Sligo Minor league title. Despite a tight opening quarter Gaels never looked in danger with super attacking play from brothers Shane and Lee Deignan who caused massive problems for the Harps defense as they scored 3-9 between them.

The opening goal of the match came when Dylan Willis finished past U-20 panelist Alan Davey. Midway through the half the sides were level as Harps got a goal of their own as Luke Kielty finished the ball to the back of the net after a 45 came in from Aaron McKenna.

But the pace of Shamrock Gaels in the forward line showed on the score board as they would score 1-3 without reply. A second Gaels goal came from Lee Deignan after a ball played in by Patrick Benson and Deignan showed his soccer skills as he finished the ball on the ground to the net. Shamrock Gaels lead at the break 2-6 to 1-3.

Despite a good start to the second half from Harps with a point from Shane O’Hara the match was put beyond them as Shane Deignan got his first of two second half goals. A free from O’Hara did cut the margin back to seven points but four points on the spin killed the game off as contest. O’Hara added two more scores but a 52 minute goal from Deignan punished the Harps defense once again. Harps did get a consolation goal just before the full-time whistle as Kyle Cosgrove effort landed in the back of the net.


Shamrock Gaels Daniel Lyons, Evan Lyons, Ryan Fitzpatrick, Seamus Hailstones (0-2), Patrick Benson (0-2), Christian Monaghan, Sean Carroll, James Carroll (0-1), Michael Barry, Dylan Willis (1-0), Dillon McDermott, Shane Deignan (2-4,1f), Lee Deignan (1-5,3fs) Subs used: Aaron McKenna, Eoin Dwyer, Conor Kearns 


Eastern Harps   Alan Davey, Thomas Taheny, Kacper Grzenda, Bryan O’Hanlon, Bryan Molloy (0-2), Marcus Meehan, Luke Hogge, Kyle Cosgrove(1-1), Shawn O’Hara(0-5,2fs), Ciaran Dorrian, Kaelum Byrne, Gavin Gardiner, Luke Kielty(1-0) Subs used: Kieran Breheny, Fionn O’Donnell 

Comments and Discussion on this article:                          (+ Write a Comment)

Write comments about this article
Your Name:*