U17 Champ Rd3: Sligo 0-16 v Mayo 0-12

Back 31/05/2019 @ 22:59 | mainnews | U17 Champ Rd3: Sligo 0-16 v Mayo 0-12
A well deserved victory was the consensus in Markievicz as the Sligo minors came from a o-7 v 0-1 deficit in the first half to storm to victory.

Mayo who were physically stronger stormed into a strong lead with good points from play from Paul Walsh, Ciaran Mylett and Rory Morrin. Dylan Thornton at this time was catching a lot of kickouts for the Mayo men but Sligo did not panic and points from play from Oisín Gorman, Dylan Walsh, Gavin Duffy with frees from Eoghan Smith brought it back to 0-7 v 0-6 before the break. At half time Mayo lead 0-8 v 0-7

Two Mayo points in the opening two minutes of the half extended Mayo lead to 3, however they would only score 2 more points in the remaining 35 minutes. In the next 10 minutes we went in front with points from play from Gorman, Deignan(2) and Smith frees. Both teams missed a number of chances but Smith drove over a long range free to push Sligo out 2 points in front. Mayo drove upfield and Jack Teape pulled off an excellent save. Oisín Gorman was taken down twice with one converted by Smith. In the 28th minute Duffy intercepted a Mayo cross field free and drove towards goal but after rounding the defender the Mayo keeper stopped his progress by touching the ball on the ground giving Smith an easy free. Deignan put us 5 out 2 minutes into injury time of which there would be close on 7 minutes. 
Ciaran McKeon who scored the first point for Sligo was black carded and the pressure piled on with a number of goaline skirmishes but we deservedly held on for superb victory

Well done to the 34 lads and management team who were loudly appluaded off the field by the supporters in attendance. 

Team: Jack Teape Shane Muldowney Mark Connolly Mc Gowan  Oisin Hynes  Canice Mulligan Ciaran McKeon(0-1) Connor Finn Joseph Keaney Jack Lavin Dylan Walsh(0-2) Eoghan Smith (0-7, 7f) Jack Davitt Lee Deignan(0-3) Oisin Gorman(0-2) Gavin Duffy (0-1)
Subs: Conor Matthews, Jim Davis, Keith Feely, Jack Lundy Tom Gavin Tola Caraway Lee Cummins Oisin Flynn Brian Marren Oran Mc Donagh Fionn Connolly Roland Scanlon Conor Stinchon Luke Casserly Jack Doyle Daire O'Boyle Aaron Davey Dara Foy Rowan Elliot