U17 FC Rd4 - Sligo 1-20 v Leitrim 1-9

Despite an early scare with a Leitrim goal in the first minute after a very early point from Oisín Gorman, this always looked like a Sligo win. Leitrims inability to score from play was to prove a major obstacle for the home team whilst the Sligo forwards were finding space and taking scores from a number of positions. After 14 minutes points from play by Gavin Duffy Lee Deignan and Jack Davitt had Sligo leading by 0-6 v 1-2 when corner back Oisín Hynes found himself with the keeper to beat and he drove to the roof of the net. 
By halftime the lead had stretched out to 1-11 v 1-4 with midfielder Joseph Keaney getting a point and fouled directly from the kickout for another from Eoghan Smith.
The Leitrim keeper and their freetaker Barry McWeeney were keeping Leitrim in the game however Sligos ability to have a range of scorers throughout the park meant the second half was a case of keeping the scoreboard ticking over. Conor Finn had 2 from wing back with Deignan scoring 3 from play to ease to a 11 point victory.

Sligo play Roscommon in Markievicz Park next Friday where the result of the game will be watched closely as 4 of the counties can make the semifinal and final. The top team goes straight to final whilst 2nd and 3rd playoff in a semifinal. 

Team: Jack Teape Shane Muldowney Mark Connolly Mc Gowan  Oisin Hynes(1-0)  Canice Mulligan Ciaran McKeon Connor Finn(0-2) Joseph Keaney(0-1) Jack Lavin Dylan Walsh Eoghan Smith (0-7, 6f) Jack Davitt(0-1) Lee Deignan(0-4) Oisin Gorman(0-1) Gavin Duffy (0-3)
Subs: Conor Matthews, Jim Davis, Keith Feely, Jack Lundy Tom Gavin Tola Caraway Lee Cummins Oisin Flynn Brian Marren Oran Mc Donagh Fionn Connolly Roland Scanlon Conor Stinchon Luke Casserly Jack Doyle Daire O'Boyle Aaron Davey Dara Foy Rowan Elliot

Comments and Discussion on this article:                          (+ Write a Comment)

Write comments about this article
Your Name:*