U20 Dev League FINAL Sligo 1-10 v Tyrone 1-23

The Sligo lads travelled to Mohill for the Philly McGuinness final knowing that in u21 and u20 Sligo have not won a title and unfortunately by halftime it was apparent today would not be historic for this group. 

Oisín Conlon and Cian Brett came in for Sean Carroll and Seán Óg Murphy and traded scored early on but Tyrone speed, power and dominance in winning primary possession saw them move into a 1-8 v 0-2 lead after 20 minutes. From a Tyrone kickout it was moved onto Rory McHugh who soloed down the sideline in at the corner along the endline leaving 4 players behind him and then dummied the keeper and drove into the net for an unbelieveable solo goal. 
However Tyrone remained composed and finished the half expertly with 4 points from 4 consecutive kickouts, with Alan Davey the only Sligo man to touch the ball. 

After halftime with a new midfield of James Carroll and Barry Gorman and a slight breeze we were more competitive at the restarts however the pace and accuracy of the Tyrone squad was very good. Alan Davey pulled off two excellent saves to deny another goal but Sligo never looked like getting back into the game. Gavin Gorman was unlucky twice when winning ball at full forward but was swarmed out of it very quickly. Tyrone and Sligo ran their benches but it was the Tyrone lads who raised the Philly McGuinness trophy after being presented by the McGuinness family and Gerry McGovern of Connacht council.

Team:Alan Davey Oisin Conlon Karl McKenna Evan Lyons Hubert Gilvarry Rory McHugh Luke Towey Brian Cox Dillon McDermott Shane Deignan Roland Andersen Gavin Gorman  Alan Reilly Cian Brett Subs: James Carroll Barry Gorman Jamie Callaghan Barry Cafferky  Sean Murphy, Eoin Hallinan

Comments and Discussion on this article:                          (+ Write a Comment)

Write comments about this article
Your Name:*