The Belfry SFC FINAL - Tourlestrane 2-17 v Coolera/Strandhill 0-9

Back 20/10/2019 @ 21:35 | mainnews | The Belfry SFC FINAL - Tourlestrane 2-17 v Coolera/Strandhill 0-9

Tourlestrane are our county champions for 2019 and are also 4 in a row winners. Despite the efforts of Coolera/Strandhill it was a result that was not in doubt for a good distance out. Coolera were honest in their efforts and never stopped going till the end but Tourlestrane were able to all defend and then break at pace to score quite easily. There was just too many options for Tourlestrane when they attacked whereas Coolera were heavily dependent on Niall Murphy for their efforts. 

Tourlestrane got the scoring going with two points from play from Alan Dunne and man of the match Liam Gaughan. Cathal Henry added a free before Murphy got his first of the day from play which he followed up with 5 minutes later with Henry adding a pointed free. In the 14th minute Liam Gaughan palmed to the net after an intricate move by Tourlestrane saw 5 quick passes break open the Coolera defence. Cathal Henry added a point from play. Barry O'Mahoney got the first of his two for the day a minute later but Coolera were creaking. There followed 7 minutes without a score but then Niall Murphy scored two excellent scores from play with 4 Tourlestrane defenders around him for one and the other had him curling over a point as he ran away from the goal. Gaughan replied from play with James Leonard getting his usual point from play. Niall Murphy added another from play but on this occasion he was the only Coolera player inside the 45m line. At half time the score stood at 1-8 v 0-6. 

Straight from the throw in Oisín Kennedy drove forward curled over within 10 seconds of the throw in. In the next 15 minutes points from Gaughan, Henry, and Jonny Kelly pushed the lead out to 9. Despite Niall Murphy and O'Mahoney adding to the Coolera scores, Tourlestrane were able to defend in numbers and then play counter attack football which play to the strenghts of Kelly and Gaughan. Coolera scored their last point from a grounded free by Murphy in the 18th minute and despite playing everyone in attack they could not get a shot off in anger at Broe. With the last kick of the game Gaughan cemented his player of the match award with a good solo run finished to the bottom of the Coolera net. 


Tourlestrane: Liam Gaughan 2-4, Cathal Henry 0-5 (4f), Jonny Kelly 0-3, Alan Dunne, James Leonard, Oisín Kennedy, Conan Marren 0-1 each

Coolera: Niall Murphy 0-7(1f), Barry O'Mahoney 0-2