Connacht Gold IFC  Curry 2-19 v Enniscrone/Kilglass 2-12

Back 27/07/2020 @ 13:49 | mainnews | Connacht Gold IFC Curry 2-19 v Enniscrone/Kilglass 2-12

In a very high scoring encounter in Dromard Curry won with a bit to spare but Enniscrone kept on going to the final whistle and got their reward with a few good scores. 

A game where both defences were marked absent on a number of occasions but having said that the forwards from both teams put on a show of score taking that was impressive. 

Gavin Duffy in his first championship start scored 0-6, and Brian Coleman with 1-5 whilst for the Curry side the Marrens (1-7 Adrian, 0-4 Jason) and Red Óg  accounted for 2-12 of their teams total. 

13 minutes into the game, Curry played with the breeze were 0-7 v 0-1 up and cruising. Enniscrone came more into the game for the second half of the half and nearly managed a score for every attack with the Mullaney brothers and Ciaran O'Dowd working hard around the middle. By halftime the scoreline was 0-12 v 0-6 to Curry.

Three minutes into the second half Red Óg Murphy drove at the heart of the Enniscrone defence and after playing 2 one twos rolled the ball into the Enniscrone net. Gavin Duffy responded with a point, but there was no let up with Blaine McIntyre venturing upfield scoring from full back and Adrian Marren adding further points. In a two minute spell the two teams were awarded penalties. Greg Regan received a black card in the Enniscrone goal and his replacement came in and saved Adrian Marrens penalty but Marren hit the rebound to the roof of the net. Ciaran O'Dowd finished his penalty to the bottom corner. 

In the last five minutes of the game Oisín Murphy score two points in a minute for Curry but Enniscrone came up the field with Brian Coleman getting a goal his overall play deserved and Shane Hargadon quickly scoring a point from the kickout however Curry and Red Óg finished the scoring with a point from play.  


Curry: Adrian Marren 1-7 ( 4f, 1 sideline) , Jason Marren 0-4 (2 marks), Red Óg Murphy 1-1, Oisín Murphy 0-3, David McDonagh, Alan Reilly, Colin Brennan, Blaine McIntyre 0-1 each

Enniscrone Kilglass:  Brian Coleman 1-5 (3 f), Gavin Duffy 0-6 (1f), Ciaran O'Dowd 1-0 (1p), Shane Hargadon 0-1