St. John's GAA Club notes

Back 04/01/2021 @ 09:47 | clubnotes | St. John's GAA Club notes
4 ; 10 ; 16 and 21 were the numbers drawn when the LOTTO took place in Cannings House & Garden on Sat Dec 19th. There was no winner of the Jackpot prize. Congratulations to the winners of the E25 consolation prizes  Ita Mulligan, Greenfort; Maura Adams, Mc Donnell Drive; Liam Rouse, Ballina and Kevike Henry, Sligo. The next draw will take place on Jan 2nd when the Jackpot will be a massive E15,350 - a great way to start 2021.Tickets at E2 each or 3 for E5 can be purchased from the following local outlets - Cannings House & Garden, Cornageeha; Molly Fultons Restaurant and Bar, Carraroe; Mc Morrow's Mace Shop, Cairns Rd, ; Clifford Electrical, Carraroe; Londis Supermarket, Cleveragh Rd and Pearse Road Service Station or from clun members. The LOTTO can also be done ONLINE - check details on ST JOHNS GAA FACEBOOK page.
A huge thanks to all lotto players for your ongoing support.
Congratulations to B Taheny of Campbell Court who was the lucky winner of our Christmas hamper kindly sponsored by Ger and Denise Canning
It is now almost 20 years - yes 20 - since the club lotto began when the first meeting was held on Feb 22nd 2000 in The Sligo Park Hotel . The committee appointed were Chairman -  Michael Barrett;  Secretary/ Pro- Brian Leydon ; Joint Treasurers - Johnny Stenson (RIP) and Pat Mc Caffrey; Committee members Brian Tuohy, Niall Gordon, Conor Hayes and Joe Tuffy. The permit to run the draw was granted by Sligo District Court in Feb 2000 and the first draw took place Sat March 25th in Carraroe Community Centre. Our thanks to these people and the many others along the way for their work and dedication to St Johns Gaa and also to all who have supported our lotto over the years as it has been essential for the running of the club.

THe St Johns AGM will take place on Wed Dec 30th at 8.00pm via Microsoft teams. If you wish to attend please contact the Secretary at 0876442878 to let her know your email address. Anybody who wishes to get involved in club activities is very welcome to attend.

Congratulations to the Sligo minor team and management, especially  St Johns players Ronan Kelly, Zach Mahon and James Burns on their great victory over Mayo in The Connacht Centre of Excellence, Bekan on Sunday afternoon. Sligo will now meet Roscommon in the Connacht final on the weekend of Jan 9th/10th in what will be a rare final meeting as these counties have not met in a final since 1949 when Sligo were declared champions after an objection. The last time Sligo won the Connacht minor title was in 1968 when they were narrowly defeated by Cork in the All Ireland final. That team provided many of the Connacht winning senior team of 1975. Well done lads and keep up the hard work for the next few weeks.
Best wishes to all club players and members and their families for a happy, safe Christmas. It has been a year like no other and special thanks are due to all those club members who stood up and helped others during this horrible pandemic that we have lived through this last year.