Match report-Expert Electrical Sligo Minor A League Final

Back 11/10/2021 @ 13:51 | mainnews | Match report-Expert Electrical Sligo Minor A League Final

Expert Electrical Sligo U17 A League Final

Sunday 10 October

Connolly Park, Collooney.

Referee: Gavin Gardiner.


St Mary's 2-20;  Shamrock Gaels 0-9


St Mary's had a comprehensive win over Shamrock Gaels in the final of the Expert Electrical U17 A League played in perfect conditions in Collooney on Sunday last.


While the Gaels had overcome St Mary's in the group stages, they were no match on the day for a physically stronger Mary's side who were particularly strong in key positions.


While St Mary's got the first two scores through corner forward Conor Flynn, the Gaels, after a shaky start took control of the first quarter and went into the water break two points up with three from Conor McMorrow and a point from play from Ciaran Kenny.


As is the case in many games, the water break was a turning point and Mary's were ahead on twenty minutes when a high ball from Ronan Niland was bundled into the net by James Golden.


Golden again pointed a minute later to extend Mary's lead to two. St Mary's now started to take control with the strong running of mid-fielder Fintan Campbell in particular causing the Gaels all sorts of trouble. By the end of the quarter they were in free flow running directly at the Gaels and ended the half five points up and in control of the game. 


In the second half, St Marys began to turn the screw with a second goal from the impressive Shea O'Neill mid way through the third quarter to put them ten points up.


The Gaels were struggling to win their own kick-outs and St Mary's were turning them over time and time again setting up attacks which generally ended up with a score.


At the other end, the Riverstown side were living of scraps and only managed three points in the second half and the game was over as a contest by the second half water break with St Marys running out easy winners in the end. 


St Marys: James Cronin, Fiachra Darcy, Stefan Roache (0-2), Oliver O'Riordan, Ronan O'Hehir, Robert O'Kelly Lynch (0-1), Adam Connolly, Dylan Streete, Fintan Campbell (0-1), Eli Rooney (0-2), Ronan Niland (0-3), Shea O'Neill (1-6), Conor Flynn (0-2), James Golden (1-2), Max Flynn Burns. 

Subs: Alex Dee for O O'Riordan, Ross Clifford (0-1) for E Rooney, Adam Kerlin for A Connolly, Cathal Shovelin for J Golden, Brendan Munnelly for M Flynn Burns. Ryan Gillen for S O'Neill, Carlos Fernandex-Haire Menendez for F Darcy.



Shamrock Gaels: Jack Duignan, Daniel King, Oisin Conlon, Jamie Parke, Troy Gilgarro, Conor Sheridan (C), Jack Tuohy, George Barlow, Andrew Barlow, Dylan McKenna, Conor McMorrow (0-5), Ciaran Kenny (0-1), Daniel O'Hara, Niall Kenny, James Foley (0-3).

Subs: Callum Kennedy for D O'Hara, Sean Kelly for T Gilgarro, Adam O'Carroll for J Tuohy, P J Scanlon for N Kenny.