Comerford and Moylan top Poc Fada competitions

Back 24/06/2023 @ 01:14 | hurlingnews | Comerford and Moylan top Poc Fada competitions
Sligo's Poc Fada 2023 took place in blustery, warm, and mainly dry conditions this evening in Sligo GAA Centre of Excellence in Scarden. 

First up were the U-16 boys with 9 entrants taking to the course. The standard was very high with the result having to be decided on the final poc. 4 players covered the course in an excellent 10 pocs but in the end it was Oisin Moylan (Easkey) who was declared the winner by virtue of having the longest final poc. 

The senior men's competition was next up with 6 participants – a very encouraging number. This competition was tight all the way round. In the initial stages Jimmy Gordon (Easkey) looked to have an advantage but crucially couldn’t make it into a decisive one when his 3rd poc into the stiff breeze just dropped short of the marker. 

Maths teacher Tony O’Kelly Lynch (Naomh Eoin) used his keen appreciation of angles to appear to steal a march on the field. He was unable to make the gamble pay off though and all players were level heading into their final shot. 
In the end a tremendous final poc by Eoin Comerford (Coolera/Strandhill) won the day, just pipping Jimmy Gordon (Easkey). 

County Chairperson and Hurling Chairperson Seán Carroll complimented the participants in both events for the excellent standard on display. He also thanked John Doyle and Frances Hanley for their assistance with the event. 

Special thanks were reserved for Darragh Cox who organised the event including designing and setting up the course. The winner of the U-16 competition and first and second place in the Senior competition move forward to represent Sligo at provincial level – our best wishes to them.  

Overall great to see increased participation and all 8 Sligo hurling clubs represented. 

Here’s to an even bigger and better event in 2024. 

1) Oisin Moylan, Easkey
2) Aaron Flynn, Tourlestrane
3) Edwin Rolston, Western Gaels


1) Eoin Comerford, Coolera/Strandhill
2) Jimmy Gordon, Easkey
3) Kevan Brennan, St Molaise Gaels