PRO News Update Dec 11th

Back 10/12/2013 @ 16:22 | pronews | PRO News Update Dec 11th

Sligo GAA Update

Senior Team Manager Appointment: On behalf of the Sligo County Board we would like to welcome Pat Flanagan from Clara of County Offaly as the new Senior Team Manager for the coming year 2014 after being ratified at an executive and county board meeting two weeks ago.  Pat is already actively in meeting all the players training sessions have taken place.

Convention Night: Our County Board Convention is fast approaches us again this coming Thursday night. With many positions up for grabs the main talking point will be the position of Chairman as current Chairman Cyril Feehily faces a challenge from Brendan Leonard of Tourlestrane and Joe Taaffe of St. Michaels. Vice Chairman Richard Brennan also faces a challenge from John Leydon of Ballysadare.  New incoming Secretary Gerry O’Connor will be returned unopposed as will Treasurer Joe Queenan. New comers to the County Board for 2013 Development Officer John McPartland and Coaching Officer Padraig Clancy will also be returned unopposed.  The third new member to the County Board for 2013, PRO Maurice Sweeney will not be seeking re-election due to personal and family reason.  There are three names nominated for this vacancy with Tommy Clarke of Calry/St. Josephs, Gavin Cawley of St. Mary’s and Chairman Cyril Feehily of Curry.  The positions of Connacht Council Delegates will also see a contest for two positions with three names in the hat, Richard Brennan and Padraig Duffy and a new nomination of John Niland of Curry in the mix!  Assistant Secretary Bernadine McGauran of Calry/St. Josephs will face a challenge from John Niland of Curry. Assistant Treasurer Michael Leonard will also face a contest from Eddie McHale of Calry/St.Josephs. The vacancy of Irish and Cultural Officer will see a new member to the executive in Keith Henry from Bunninadden as he is the only nomination in for the vacancy. Children’s Officer which is appointed by the executive will also see new face as Martin Cannon has stepped down. The two Connacht Council delegates Richard Brennan and Padraig Duffy also face a challenge with John Niland also going for one of these vacancies. Nominations for Representatives for Connacht Convention 2014 include, Chairman Cyril Feehliy, Secretary Gerry O’Connor, Sligo G.A.A.  Administrator Eamonn McMunn, Seamus Cawley Shamrock Gaels county board delegate and Eamonn Mullen Coolera/Strandhill secretary. Nominations for Representatives to Annual Congress 2014 include, Chairman Cyril Feehliy, Secretary Gerry O’Connor, Administrator Eamonn McMunn, Padraig Duffy and Cathal Martyn.

U-20B Championship Final: Congratulations to Castleconnor who won the U-20B Football Final last Sunday by defeating St. Pats in the last club final of the year which was played in Easkey. Final Score: Castleconnor 3-6 to St.Pats 1-11.

U-21 Trials: Trials for the Sligo U21 Team for 2014 will take place on Saturday 14th & 21st December.

Festive Season: On behalf of the out-going County Board we would like to wish all clubs and their members a very enjoyable festive season and hope the coming year 2014 will bring success to your club and families.